# Box Hill Athletic Club Winter News 07

#### **UPCOMING EVENTS**

Saturday, June 23 Geelong Cross Country (16k open men, 4k open women, various distances for juniors) Saturday, June 30 75th Anniversary Dinner Box Hill Town Hall Saturday July 7 Coliban Ekiden Relay Harcourt to Bendigo Saturday, July 21 Bundoora Cross Country combined with All Schools cross country championships

# BOX HILL ATHLETIC CLUB 75TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATIONS, SATURDAY, JUNE 30

To celebrate the 75th anniversary of the club, a dinner will be held at the Box Hill town hall on the night of Saturday, June 30. All past and present members of the club are invited to attend what is sure to be a great night! Write this date in your diary. We are hoping to have as many people as possible who have been associated with the club over the years attending. Please RSVP early as tables are already starting to fill. If you have not received the flyer with the tear off slip, please let us know as soon as possible. We are hoping that this night will be a great chance for past members to reconnect but it is also a celebration for all present members of the club. We encourage all members, coaches, parents and everyone else associated with the club to come along and help us celebrate the club's 75th anniversary.

### **ROAD RACE AT SANDOWN, LAST SATURDAY, MAY 26**

Congratulations to Hayley Tomlinson, Chris Hamer and Matt Coloe, who all won medals at the state road racing championships at Sandown last Saturday.

Ian Sloane's report:

In the most favourable conditions for years, Box Hill had an excellent representation of runners and some very good individual results. There was a fairly strong headwind blowing into the runners' faces in the back straight, but conditions were otherwise excellent, temperate and sunny.

The field was a very large one, and on starting a group of twenty-five runners established a break over the rest of the field after half on the first lap of the 3.2 k. course.

Michaels Shelley broke clear before the end of the second lap and about 15 seconds adrift of him, Clint (Perrett (Mentone), David McNeill (Doncaster) and Richard Jeremiah (Deakin) were fighting out the minor placings. He maintained and extended his lead to win comfortably. Eventually, McNeill prevailed to place second, with Perrett finishing third, and Jeremiah fourth. Steve Moneghetti (Ball. YCW) entered and ran moderately following his participation in the great Ocean Road 45 k. "Marathon", the preceding weekend. Lee Troop (Geelong) was in the same situation, and these two internationals finished 10th (30:10) and 11th (30:27) respectively.

We had strong male representation, with fourteen athletes in the senior men's division. Unfortunately, several athletes who had entered failed to show up so we were weakened in our Division 1 team and were one short of finishing a third team.

Alan Craigie ran strongly the whole way to place 19th overall, just ahead of Chris Hamer one place back. Chris also ran very impressively, and was the second Under 20 athlete to finish behind Ben Ashkettle (Doncaster) who recoded 14th place. Andrew White continued his return to form and started of modestly, building his cadence and position through the race to be the third Box Hill athlete over the line (26th), slightly ahead of Daniel Clarke, twenty or so

metres behind in 27th position. Matt Coloe also ran impressively to win the Bronze medal in the Under 20 race, and was 32nd overall. Next in was John Meagher who ran an even race to place 35th. David Jimenez was our 5th Division 1 competitor, followed in by Navin Arunasalam (Under 20) and Paul Boxshall, who completed our Division I team.

Our Under 20 men excelled themselves, with Chris Hamer placing second and Matt Coloe placing third as noted above. Navin Arunasalam also ran well to finish 79th overall and was probably in the top 10 of the Under 20 men. As runners were not wearing identifying tags it was difficult to separate out who was in the junior race as it was run as part of the senior race.

Joc Keage was our best placed female athlete, completing the race in 40:03. Amanad Harper, Talitha Crawford and Christine Hopkins made up the Division 1 women's team.

Times were taken from a running watch and placings are not official.

Place 1 2 3 4		Name Finish time Michael Shelley (Inv) David McNeill (Doncaster) Clint Perrett (Mentone) Richard Jeremiah (Geelong)	29:20
19	15	Alan Craigie	30:55
20	2	Chris Hamer (U/20)	30:56
26	21	Andrew White	31:30
27	22	Daniel Clarke	31:36
32		Matt Coloe (U/20)	31:51
35	27	John Meagher	31:55
66	46	David Jimenez	33:25?
79		Navin Arunasalam (U/20)	33:59
83	57	Paul Boxshall	34:00
99	9	Alex Diorietes (U/20)	34:35
131	96	Chris O'Connor	35:13
169	123	Andrew Robinson	36:10
181	132	John Vaitkunas	36:22
301	217	Scott Boxshall	39:02
316	227	David Ayers	39:27
324	233	Bill Dyer	39:35
322	275	Barry Whittle	41:00
494	335	Adam Pepper	44:13
566	21	Cameron Nagle (U/18)	46:49
Women			
344	32	Joc Keage	40:03
411	48	Amanda Harper	41:27
490	70	Talitha Crawford	44:05
495	71	Kristine Hopkins	44:14
559	98	Priscilla Barrington	46:33
Underage 3000 m Road race			
			10:46
15		bson (U/20)	12:21

#### **CLUB 10 MILE CHAMPIONSHIP POSTPONED**

The club's annual 10 mile championship was scheduled to take place on Sunday, June 10. As this is the Queen's Birthday long weekend it has been decided to postpone the event until later in the year

# **QUESTIONS?**

If you have any questions about the winter season competition, contact a member of the club winter competition committee.

Graeme Olden ph. 9885 0890 email: mailto:golden@sprint.net.au

Ian and Megan Sloane ph. 9459 4486 email: mailto:iansloane@optusnet.com.au

Chris O'Connor ph: 9882 6108 email: mailto:coconnor@swin.edu.au