Box Hill Athletic Club Winter News 13 Monday 16th June 2008

UPCOMING EVENTS

Saturday, June 28 Coliban Relay Harcourt to Bendigo

Wednesday, July 9 AGM

Saturday, July 12 Cross Country Geelong

Saturday, July 26 Cross Country Bundoora

Saturday, Aug 2 TRIVIA NIGHT! TRIVIA NIGHT! TRIVIA NIGHT!

Saturday, Aug 9 Road Relays Sandown

WORKING BEE THANKS

Thanks to all those members who helped out at the working bee last Saturday. Your work is much appreciated and will benefit all track users.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The Annual General Meeting of the Box Hill Athletic Club will be held at the clubrooms on Wednesday, July 9.

BOX HILL FRANK TUTCHENER 10 MILE CHAMPIONSHIP

On Sunday 15 June, 8 hardy runners embarked on the Annual Club 10 mile race. It was a crisp morning, and the runners were despatched just after 9.00 a.m. Julie Milner and Kate Wall accompanied the runners for part of the course on their bicycles. Andrew White and Stuart Watson, a recently-joined and talented young athlete, soon charged to the lead and were running side by side through the first checkpoint, followed by Graeme Olden, Dave Ayers, Ian Jones, Chris O'Connor and Rachel Johnson. Talitha Crawford was undertaking a three hour training session, preparing for a forthcoming Marathon attempt, and she was on the course at the same time as the race, having started much earlier.

Andrew White finally broke clear of Stuart Watson in the second sector of the race and maintained and extended his lead to win the race.

Stuart Watson ran an impressive race and cracked the one hour barrier, which is a fine achievement. Graeme Olden placed third, with Rachel Johnson, Chris O'Connor and Talitha Crawford following them in. David Ayers and Ian Jones ran the 5 mile course (8 k.). Thanks to Chris O'Connor and Julie Milner for purchasing and setting up the post-race breakfast and to Graeme Olden for checking the course.

Placings

1. Andrew White	57:12
2. Stuart Watson	59:25
3. Graeme Olden	63:25
4. Rachel Johnson	72:54
5. Chris O'Connor	75:21

5 mile course

Dave Ayers 32:42

Ian Jones 37:07

COLIBAN RELAYS

The next event on the AV calendar is the Harcourt to Bendigo "Coliban" relay on Saturday, June 28. We are hoping to enter at least 4 men's teams and 2 women's teams. There are no junior events on this day, but juniors can run in the senior teams. Draft Teams are listed below,

but these will no doubt change. Final teams with running order will be sent out next week. Please let us know about your availability for this event so that teams can be finalised. If your name is not listed and you wish to run please let us know, as extra teams can be entered if necessary.

MEN DIVISION 1:

Daniel Clark

Steve Kelly

Chris Hamer

Steve Dinneen

Andrew White

Matt Coloe

MEN DIVISION 3:

John Meagher

Paul Boxshall

Adrian Vincent

Bouchaib Chefnaoui

Otmane Tirhazouine

MEN DIVISION 5:

Michael Dowel

Josh De Stefanis

Mark Poli

Steve Griffin

Stuart Watson

MEN DIVISION 7 from:

Chris O'Connor

Graeme Olden

Antony Van Eeten

David Ayers

Scott Boxshall

Andrew Tunne

Barry Whittle

WOMEN DIVISION 1

Rachel Johnson

Hayley Tomlinson

Sarah Cant

Talitha Crawford

Harriet Hodgkinson

WOMEN DIVISION 2

Kerry Putt

Megan Sloane

Coreena Cleland?

Others?

Contact a member of the winter competition committee if you have any enquiries Graeme Olden ph. 9885 0890 email: golden@sprint.net.au Ian and Megan Sloane ph. 9459 4486 email: iansloane@optusnet.com.au Chris O'Connor ph: 9808 5914 or 0410 490 630 email:

coconnor@swin.edu.au

TRIVIA NIGHT!

The clubs annual Trivia Night is to be held on Saturday, August 2 at the usual venue (Ashburton Primary School). This is the club's major social and fundraising event for the year. Write this date in your diary and start planning your tables, for what promises to be another great night!

REGISTER NOW!

Registrations are now due for the 2008/2009 season.

Remember that only registered members and those who have paid a training fee should be using the clubs track and other facilities. Registrations are valid until March 31 next year.