Box Hill Athletic Club Winter Bulletin 2009 No. 07 Monday 25 May 2009

UPCOMING EVENTS

Saturday, May 30 Road Race Championships, Sandown Racecourse

Saturday, June 20 Road Race Championships, Ballarat

Saturday, June 27 Working Bee at Box Hill

Saturday, July 4 Harcourt to Bendigo Relay

Wednesday, July 8 BHAC Annual General Meeting

ENTRIES FOR SANDOWN

One of the big events of the AV winter calendar, the Sandown road race, will be held this Saturday, May 30. The junior 3k event will start at 1:45pm The 10k event (Women Open, Men Open, Men Under 20 and Men Under 18) will commence at 2:30pm.

Please note that the usual entrance to Sandown, via Springvale Rd will be closed. Access to Sandown will be from the Princes Highway, along Racecourse Drive. If travelling from the city, stay in the left lane along the Princes Highway and use the flyover to enter the racecourse (Melways Ref 80 C10). There is ample free parking available. NOTE: there will be no access to Sandown Raceway from Springvale via Sandown Road on raceday

Box Hill entries are listed below.

If anyone else would like to compete, please contact us as soon as possible so that you can be entered in time to score points for the club.

Contact a member of the winter competition committee if you have any questions about this event.

Winter competition committee:

Graeme Olden ph. 9885 0890 email: golden@sprint.net.au

Ian and Megan Sloane ph. 9459 4486 email: iansloane@optusnet.com.au

Chris O'Connor 0410 490 630 email: coconnor@swin.edu.au

Entires: Men 10k

Matt Coloe

Daniel Clark

Chris Hamer

Steve Kelly

Andrew White

Luke Yeatman

Josh De Stefanis

Adrian Vincent

John Meagher

Andrew Nagle

Bert Pelgrim

Chris O'Connor

Graeme Olden

David Stevens

Andrew Tunne

Chris Bradford

Steve Griffin

Russell Clowes

Bill Dyer

Navin Arunasalam

Peter Stefanos

Barry Lynch

Stuart Watson

David Ayers

David Jiminez

Simon Evans

Chaai Kathirasan Jackson Dyer

Entries: Women 10k

Mai Tagami Rachel Johnson Julie Norney June Petrie Kate Ackland Tracey Taylor Talitha Crawford Kerry Putt Megan Sloane Samantha Cook Nikki Chapple Hanny Allston Prue Healy

Entries: Junior 3k Eloise O'Brien Amelia Savige Mitchell Dyer

MORE RESULTS FROM WARRAGUL

Last week we failed to mention the winning effort of our over 40 women's team at the cross country event at Warragul. The Box Hill team of Julie Norney, June Petrie and Megan Sloane easily won their division. Individually Julie Norney was 3rd in the 40-44 age group while June Petrie and Megan Sloane won the 45-49 and the 50+ age groups respectively. On the men's side, John Meagher won the 45-49 years age group and Bert Pelgrim was 2nd in the 50-54 competition.

WINTER POLE VAULT COMPETITIONS

Winter pole vault competitions will be held at Box Hill on the afternoons of June 12 and June 20. Contact Mark Stewart for more details. mark.stewart@rmit.edu.au