

For the 19th consecutive year, Graeme Olden and Chris O'Connor prepared things to enable the Box Hill AC 5 K handicap race to occur at the Bennetswood course.

We were expecting 55 entrants and 40 actually turned up, including a number of younger competitors .

It was a very warm day – about 27°C. As usual, we had a strong showing of our pole vault community, even though many of them were competing in Perth in the National Championships with great distinction. Their participation is always welcome. We also had the pleasure of seeing a number of our members whom we haven't seen for a little while, including John Vaitkunas (a former winner of the event), Warren Brooks (and his family, recently returned from Singapore) and Kate Beever, who recently produced a beautiful daughter. It was also pleasing to see Sam Dipnall at the start as a spectator and we look forward to his participation in the Winter Season after he has recovered from injury.

This year many of the times were slower than usual, and this was not due entirely to the hot conditions. One of the early runners to depart missed the correct marked turn off and many of those following her followed her and ran probably 350 metres extra, which was reflected in the finishing times.

After the first lap, it appeared that Bec Marchant and Abbie Freestone were going to romp it in, but the distance which they were unaccustomed to proved too much of a challenge. During the second lap, Andrew Nagle managed to stamp his authority on the race and defeated Dave Featherston, who also performed well above what he was expected to, to win the race. Graeme Olden was not quite able to bridge the gap and eliminate the headway which the first and second placegetters had established over the rest of the field. Mitchell Dyer and Bert Pelgrim also ram well to fill the next places. Other athletes who appeared to have strong runs included John Vaitkunas, former winner, Michael Dowel, Julie Norney and Steve Griffin.

Harry Dodds, a junior runner, finished with a sensational burst of speed encouraged warmly by the athletes who had already finished and spectators.

It was clear that Steve Hooker, who had not been able to win this race on a number of attempts, decided his chances of winning the national Pole Vault title were higher than winning this race, so he went to Perth, and missed this race.

Finishing order 5 K Handicap race

Place	Name	Elapsed time	Handicap	Actual time
1	Andrew Nagle	27:20	9:30	17:50
2	Dave Featherston	27:28	8:40	18:48
3	Graeme Olden	27:48	9:10	18:38
4	Mitchell Dyer	27:56	8:55	19:01
5	Bert Pelgrim	28:02	9:55	18:07
6	John Vaitkunas	28:06	9:10	18:56

_				
7	Katherine Houston	28:08	2:30	25:38
8	Michael Dowel	28:09	11:30	16:39
9	Julie Norney	28:09	8:55	19:14
10	Steve Griffin	28:16	11:05	17:11
11	Richard Jackson-Grose	28:38	10:00	18:38
12	Bec Marchant	28:44	2:00	26:44
13	Abbie Freestone	28:44	2:00	26:44
14	Warren Brooks	28:47	7:00	21:47
15	Dave Ayers	28:48	9:15	19:33
16	Bill Dyer	28:50	8:40	20:10
17	Andrew White	28:56	12:20	16:36
18	Rachel Johnson	29:04	10:25	18:39
19	Dylan Eeles	29:16	10:00	19:16
20	Nat Ambrose	29:22	7:40	21:42
21	Peter Stefanos	29:23	7:40	21:43
22	Angela Crowley	29:29	6:00	23:29
23	Eloise O'Brien	29:34	8:35	20:59
24	Tom Cornelius	29:40	8:40	21:00
25	Brodie Cross	29:41	8:45	20:56
26	Dave Stevens	29:56	6:45	23:11
27	Rebecca Law	30:06	7:50	22:16
28	Emily de Luca	30:07	6:45	23:22
29	Jonathon Tree	30:10	8:50	21:20
30	Megan Sloane	30:23	6:30	23:53
31	Kerry Putt	30:58	6:05	24:53
32	Simon Evans	31:20	7:00	24:20
33	Brigid Wolhuter	31:53	7:00	24:53
34	Helen Towler	32:19	7:00	25:19
35	Braeden Cross	32:27	7:50	24:37
36	Harry Dodds	32:52	5:00	27:52
37	Kate Beever	33:35	1:30	32:05
38	Dom DiCenso	36:51	5:00	29:51
39	Callum Evans	39:14	5:00	34:14
40	Liam Evans	DNF		

Fastest time: Andrew White 16:36