

Excellent running conditions greeted competitors in this year's Tan Relay event. There was a windy gust or two on the top past of the course around the Botanic Gardens and past the shrine.

This year's Division 1 race was a closely run race, particularly from first to fifth and the overall standard of performance lifted this year as well. In order to win the Winter season Premiership, Box Hill needed to win the event and have Geelong in fourth position. If Box Hill won and Geelong finished third, then Geelong would win on a countback. By winning the Tan Relay race, Geelong would clearly take out the Winter Championship.

The men's and women's races were separated by a margin of five minutes. It was surprising to see a cloud of dust rise when the men's races started, and this probably reflected the influence of the warmish temperature.

Tyson Popplestone (Eureka) led the Division 1 first lap and ran the smart time of 11 minutes 12 seconds. Scott Vance (Frankston) was the next athlete to changeover, closely followed by Daniel Clark, in third position. Daniel was well placed, ahead of all of the rival clubs which could have beaten us. Eureka faded after the first leg and look likely to be relegated to Division 2 along with Keilor St Bernards. APS was hard on our heels in fourth place with Geelong and Glenhuntly not much further behind (see below for the times and places held). Know and Essendon were surprisingly not prominent at this stage. In the second lap, Anthony Aloisio ran past Steve Kelly to record a fast lap (11:18) whilst Steve overtook Eureka and Frankston. Glenhuntly improved to be third, with a gap between Box Hill and Glenhu1414ntly and Knox moved into fourth. Geelong slipped to sixth position which appeared to open the door for us to win if they didn't improve their position,. However, Craig Mottram commenced warming up for the fourth leg and that was always going to have an influence on the race. When Steve handed over to Chris Hamer, we were a close second. Chris ran a solid lap, holding second place, having marginally reduced the deficit, again within close striking distance. Simon Field (APS) managed to hold on to the lead.

Michael Dowel was our fourth runner, having been promoted from the Under 20 team. APS led off, followed by Box Hill and Geelong 24 seconds behind us. Knox and Glenhuntly were also in medal contention, with Frankston slipping back. Craig Mottram took over and smashed all the other runners in this lap. He recorded the fastest time for the day, 27 seconds quicker than anyone else managed on the day. The propelled Geelong to the lead, a position they held for the rest of the race. APS managed to stay just ahead of box Hill to maintain second, whilst Glenhuntly and the fast finishing Knox (Ben Toomey) were only just behind our team. Daniel Balassone took over to run the fifth leg. Geelong came back to the field in this lap, and Sam Crowther (Knox) ran a very smart lap (11:20) to move Knox into second place at the end of the fifth lap. APS still held third place and Box Hill was 12 seconds in arrears of APS, with Steve Dinneen still to run. Steve set off purposefully and made up significant ground on APS, passing Justin Rinaldi, to take over third place, and eroding the lead that Knox had in second place. Brenton Rowe (Geel.) extended Geelong's lead over the rest of the field, running the second fastest sixth leg of the day. Mitchel Brown running the last leg for Essendon brought his tem into sixth place but could not catch fifth-placed Glenhuntly. Therefore Box Hill finished with the bronze medal, and in second place in the Winter Championship. With a number of

top Under 20 runners moving into senior ranks, and the impending return of Andrew White and others who have recovered from injury, we look set for an excellent 2012 season.

In Division 2, Melbourne University maintained its dominance of the division smashing the other teams. Of note were the excellent leg run by Gondwosen Geleta (South Melbourne). South Melbourne was the runner-up with Collingwood 2 third. Box Hill placed eighth. Nick Baggott (12:45), David Jimenez (13:02) and Steve Griffin (13:05) were the leading runners in our team.

Thanks to the members and supporters who assisted with team management duties.

# 2011 Men's Team Performances: The Tan Relays

**Division 1 Performance Running Sheet (Running watch)** 

Leg 1		Leg 2		Leg 3		Leg 4		Leg 5		Leg 6	
Eureka	11:12	APS	22:50	APS	34:26	Geel	45:35	Geel	57:31	Geel	68:42
Frank	11:28	ВН	22:55	BH	34:30	APS	46:25	Knox	58:01	Knox	70:01
ВН	11:30	GH	23:15	Geel	34:54	ВН	46:33	APS	58:36	ВН	70:25
APS	11:31	Knox	23:20	Knox	35:04	GH	46:35	ВН	58:48	APS	70:38
Geel	11:36	Frank	23:23	GH	35:07	Knox	47:43	GH	59:11	GH	70:54
GH	11:46	Geel	23:28	Frank	35:45	Ess	48:16	Fra	60:54	Ess	72:25
Coll	11:47	Ess	23:50	Coll	36:14	Frank	48:30	Coll	61:16	Coll	72:45
KStB	11:51	Coll	24:06	Wav	36:36	Coll	48:54	Ess	61:18	Frank	72:51

## **Division 1 Placings**

### **Men's Division 1 Overall Results**

1 Geelong	1:08:42
2 Knox	1:10:01
3 Box Hill	1:10:25
4 APS	1:10:38
5 Glenhuntly	1:10:54
6 Essendon	1:12:25

### **Box Hill Division 1 Individual Performances**

Leg	Runner	Lap time	Race Position	Leader's time	BH time
1	Daniel Clark	11:30	3	11:12	11:30
2	Steve Kelly	11:25	2	22:50	22:55
3	Chris Hamer	11:35	2	34:26	34:30
4	Michael Dowel	12:13	3	45:35	46:43
5	Daniel Balassone	12:05	4	57:31	58:48
6	Steve Dinneen	11:37	3	68:42	70:25

### **Leading Times (Unofficial running watch)**

Craig Mottram	Geelong	10.41	
Mitchel Brown	Essndon	11:07	
Ben Ashkettle	Doncaster	11:07	Division 3
Brenton Rowe	Geelong	11:12	

Chris Hamer	Box Hill	11.35	
Daniel Clark	Box Hill	11.30	
Luke Hennesy	Glenhuntly	11:30	
Rowan Walker	Geelong	11:29	
Adam Byles	Glenhuntly	11:29	
Scott Vance	Frankston	11:28	
Wondosen Geleta	Sth Melb.	11:26	Division 2
Jordan Williamsz	Knox	11:25	
<b>Steve Kelly</b>	Box Hill	11:25	
Adrian McGregor	Melb. Uni	11:20	Division 2
Sam Crowther	Knox	11:20	
Anthony Aloisio	APS	11:18	
Tom Fawthorpe	Ringwood	11:14	Division 4
Tyson Popplestone	Eureka	11:13	

## **Men's Division 2 Overall Results**

8 Box Hill	1:21:50
7 Western Athletics	1:19:20
6 Ringwood	1:18:41
5 Bendigo	1:18:40
4 Glenhuntly	1:18:21
3 Collingwood	1:16:54
2 South Melbourne	1:14:28
1 Melbourne University	1:11:59

#### **Division 2 Box Hill Times**

Nick Baggott	12:45
Steve Griffin	13:05
Keiran Shah	15:03
Andrew Hester	13:27
David Ayers	14:27
David Jimenez	13:02