Geelong Cross Country

Junior Men

The under 20 event over 6km was closely fought with several interstate runners finishing in the top 10. Chris Hamer was the third Victorian across the line, winning a bronze medal.

Team Result: Under 20: 1st
3.  Chris Hamer      18:50
5.  Matt Coloe       19:15
9.  Navin Arunasalam 19:58
13. Steve Kelly      21:10

Cameron Nagle ran well to finish 17th in the under 18 event over 8km in a time of 36:26

Open Men

Unfortunately a number of our best runners were unavailable for this event, injured, ill or overseas. We had 10 runners in the men’s open 16km event, just one short of filling our division 3 team. Andrew White was the team’s best finisher, coming 9th.

Team Result: Division 1: 5th

9.   Andrew White    54:23
17.  John Meagher    55:09
34.  David Jiminez   57:12
55.  Graeme Olden    59:21
81.  Chris O’Connor  61:14
102. John Vaitkunas  62:33
106. Andrew Robinson 62:43
189. Bill Dyer       68:26
234. Barry Whittle   72:12
266. David Stevens   79:09

Welcome to new member Antony Van Eeten who ran by invitation and finished in the very respectable time of 63:59

Open Women

Despite having several runners unavailable for this event, we still had seven competitors in the women’s open 4km race. Jocelyn Keage continues to improve and was our first finisher. It was also good to see sprinters Kate Ackland and Erryn Barlow pushing themselves over the cross country.

Team Results: Division 1: 8th, Division 2: 10th
33.  Jocelyn Keage  15:38
44.  Amanda Harper  16:06
61.  Emma Steer     16:44
70.  Margie Conley  16:59
77.  Megan Sloane   17:13
100. Kate Ackland   17:50
106. Kerry Putt     18:03
117. Erryn Barlow   18:38

Junior Women

Congratulations to Hayley Tomlinson who won the under 20 3km event in a time of 11:34. In a closely fought race with the first 5 runners finishing within 10 seconds, Hayley took the lead at about halfway and ran strongly up the last hill to record a good victory.