Anglesea Ekiden Relays, 6 August 2016

August 6, 2016

The XCR’16 season has been a very successful one for the Club so far, but we had many of our runners unavailable for the Ekiden relay at Anglesea on the weekend. Although not achieving the sorts of results that became routine in the early rounds this season, there were still some good performances over the rough hilly tracks.

Notably our men’s under 20 team of Alex Ritchie, Lucas Pamminger and Carlos Norman won a silver medal, while our men’s premier division team and men’s over 50 team both finished in 4th position, just a few seconds out of the medals.

It was also great to see the return of Daniel Clark and Mitch Dyer to the team and Georgia Griffith running extremely well in her first race of the winter season.

Special thanks to Megan Sloane and to Conor Yung and Zac Hunter who helped with officiating and to Kirsty Ritchie and Bert Pelgrim, who along with Ian Sloane helped with timekeeping.

Results (note that a last minute course change means that runners covered at least 300m more than the designated distance)

Men Premier Division          4th

  1. Nick Baggott           34:22   9.8km
  2. Peter Green             32:34   8.8km
  3. James O’Connell    28:58   7.9km
  4. Mitch Dyer              21:13   6.0km
  5. Andre Waring         18:01   5.2km
  6. Daniel Clark            16:30   4.6km


Men Division 2                    9th

  1. Zac Hunter              39:34   9.8km
  2. Michael Vaughan    34:49   8.8km
  3. Michael Dowel       32:26   7.9km
  4. David Jiminez         25:03   6.0km
  5. Andrew Hester        21:44   5.2km
  6. Conor Yung            20:08   4.6km


Men Division 4                      DNF

  1. Ron Ashbridge        42:07   9.8km
  2. Jack Prendergast     40:06   8.8km
  3. Bill Dyer                 41:13   7.9km
  4. Andrew Tunne        34:52   6.0km


Men Over 50                         4th

  1. Peter Stefanos         42:30   9.8km
  2. Chris O’Connor      36:13   7.9km
  3. Simon St. Hill         25:45   5.2km


Men Under 20                       2nd

  1. Alex Ritchie            32:18   8.8km
  2. Lucas Pamminger   31:57   7.9km
  3. Carlos Norman        23:57   6.0km


Women Premier Division     7th

  1. Amy Carrig             45:11   9.8km
  2. June Petrie              39:35   8.8km
  3. Georgia Griffith      24:25   6.0km
  4. Pia Hunter               23:31   5.2km
  5. Kerry Putt               25:31   4.6km